Beer Review: Rogue Voodoo Doughnut Lemon Chiffon Crueller Ale

IMG_0212_cropWhen I think of fruit beers I think of overly sweet beers which taste like a glorified cider, or just a cider. I didn’t know this was how Rogue’s Voodoo Doughnut Lemon Chiffon Crueller Ale was classified when I got it, but that probably wouldn’t have stopped me from getting it anyway, because the name sounds pretty kick-ass. I like doughnuts and I like beer, and I like crullers, what could go wrong?

The nose is lemony and fruity, and a bit sweet, but not too sweet. On the first it is like biting into a lemon glazed crueller, light and sweet with a hint of vanilla. It tastes a bit like a vanilla infused lemonade. I have compared some beers to lemonade before, but this time I mean it in a good way. The finish is sweet again with lemon coming through as well as a sugary taste which is somewhat like toasted marshmallows. The sweetness is throughout this beer, but not enough to make me regret drinking it.

I did not expect this beer to taste exactly as the name describes it, but much to my surprise it did. Some of the other flavors in the Voodoo Doughnut series sound pretty good, such as the Maple Bacon Ale, which I can see how that may not sound appealing to some people, but I think it sounds pretty cool. This is something very different and is suited well as a desert beer, or if you want something a bit different.

Who: Rouge Ales and Spirits, USA

What: Doughnut ale/Fruit beer

Nose: Lemon, fruity, sweet

Look:  Clear gold

Taste: Vanilla, lemon, sweet

Finish: Sweet, marshmallow, sugar

Form Tried: 750ml bottle

Official page

Leave a Reply

