Beer Review: Moa Festive IPA Belgian Edition 2015

IMG_0342_cropThis is part of Moa’s Festive IPA series, which are released a few times a year. I’ve had this in the fridge since last year having bought a few of them, and since the 2016 edition just came out I figured it was time to have the last of them. When I first saw the beer the Belgian edition peaked my interest as I have a fondness for Belgian beers, so I had high hopes for the beer, and that may have biased me a bit towards it too.

The nose is that of hops with a subtle note of fruit as well. The taste is rich with smooth hops that have that melt-in-your-mouth texture, and this continues into the finish where it subsides to a nice bitterness. There is that Belgian taste in there as well which is the yeast used in the brewing, although the flavors a quite subtle in this respect.

Overall this is a nice infusion of an IPA with Belgian style ingredients. The flavor is pretty consistent throughout the beer, but the Belgian taste isn’t as strong as I would have liked it to be. Having said that I really liked it, the overall taste and texture was pleasant and it makes a generally well-rounded beer. I’m looking forward to trying the 2016 edition.

Who: Moa Brewing Company, New Zealand

What: IPA

Nose: Hops, fruits

Look: Cloudy gold

Taste: Rich hops, smooth

Finish: Bitter hops

Form Tried: 500ml bottle

Official page

One comment

Leave a Reply

